theBroken

vision03.jpg

No, this isn’t an emo post.

Well, it is, but i’m being emo aobut a broken gadget so…

Anyone who reads my other blog knows I get excited about gadgets in a manner that is somewhat distrurbing. So when one of my gadgets gets damaged, it’s not a pretty sight. I hooked up my creative zen to my dad’s laptop this morning to get some podcasts on it, and I noticed something funky with the screen. I figured it was just acting up or I’d plug in the zen improperly so I promptly unplugged it and plugged it in again. Same screen. Almost half of it was white and there were…lines…streaking out from a corner…

Then it hit me.

My screen had cracked. The screen on my barely 4 month old DAP (digital media player wassup?) had cracked. I wasnted to scream. But I was almost late for work so I just sucked it up and went on my daily commute. But FUUUUUUUUCK. I spent 10k on that just last christmas and now it’s fucked! I’m lucky that the other half of the screen is sort of legible so I can still scroll around and generally use it as I used to, but it’s called the Zen “vision” M for a reason, you’re supposed to be able to watch videos on it DAMMIT!

fuck fuck fuckity fuck.

I did some snooping on the internets and found some people with the same problem, and it looks like I’ll have to pay upwards of 5k to have the unit shipped to creative and fixed, which is really sucky. I’m gonna call the creative service center here in the philppines to see what’s going down, but my hopes aren’t incredibly high.

Update: I called the local distributor of creative and they said that they don’t do hardware fixes because they’re not authorized to. They only do firmware upgrades and shit like that. Hell, I can do a firmware update on my own. Sigh. They said I could have it shipped to singapore, but that it would cost around 8 thousand, not including labor, so my only recourse is to find someone who’s gonna be in singapore soon, or go there myself. Sigh.

3 Responses to “theBroken”

  1. I hope you could find someone who can help you with your problem. going back to your post, That’s why it’s not practical to invest your money on gadgets. When they break down you’re going to pay double for repairing them. technology cost alot.

  2. That it does. But good customer service shouldn’t, and companies that produce gadgets have a responsibility to make quality products. But anyway, I bought a Zune.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

