Clerks 2 movie review

clerks_2.jpg

I’d like to say that you don’t need to have watched the original Clerks in order to appreciate Kevin Smith’s latest movie, but you kinda have to.  The first Clerks movie was about being twenty and stuck in the same old job as a convenience store clerk and all of the excitement (or lack of it ) that this entails.   The common thread between the two movies is the idea of moving forward in life, something that the main characters Dante and Randall don’t manage in the first movie but somehow blunder into in this second installment, with a little help from Jay and Silent Bob.  I don’t wanna spoil too much, but I’ll just say that their evolution happened in the only possible way it could have.

Along the way lots of hilarity ensues, my favorite part being the standoff between Lord of the Rings geeks and Star Wars geeks, and Randall’s reenactment of the LOTR trilogy (“the entire three movies were about walking to goddamn volcano and dropping off a ring!).

Clerks 2 is highly recommended, I’d give it five stars if only I didn’t want to sound like too much of a Kevin Smith fanboy, so it gets 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Oh. and hot diggity damn Rosario Dawson looks smoking hot wearing glasses.

8 Comments to “Clerks 2 movie review”

  1. I…actually hated this movie. And I’d need to watch it again, if only to back up that statement. SEE, IT’S THAT FORGETTABLE!

  2. Well that’s just cause you’re not a geek. 😛 But really how could you hate thhis movie?

  3. [b]I’m[/b] not a geek?! I take offense in that, mister!

    Srsly, though. It wasn’t very funny, save for the Kinky Kelly parts. And the whole falling-in-love-with-someone-who-was-right-there-all-along bit is just too…egh.

    I SUCK AT MOVIE REVIEWS!

  4. Okay, so I’ve been posting at MBs the whole day that I used BBcode instead of html.

  5. Ok so not as much of a geek as I am, but srsly. It wasn’t as funny as the original movie, but it did have its many moments. It had a lot more heart than the original but was less funny. Fine, I’ll downgrade it to a 4.

  6. I think we need a Chasing Amy II.

  7. well yeah we do. but i still liked clerks 2

  8. Yay, this one is my favorite!!! I love it! 😀

Leave a Reply

