20 peso comics!

comics.jpg

Comic geeks should definitely troop over to comic odyssey in robinson’s galleria, where they’ve got a bargain bin of crazy comics at 20 pesos each (and if you buy 5 they give you an extra one free!).  I’m kind of a cheap comic geek so I rarely pick up singles, especially since they’re a bitch to take care of.  I do indulge in a TPB or two every now and then, but 20 peso comics just call out to my frugal inner geek, so I couldn’t resist poring over the rows of comics to see if i could spot any gems amongst the copies of “badger” and “ferret”.

I got me Issues 2, 3 and 4 of Truth:Red, white and black and issues 1,3,and 4 of Jim Mahfood’s Grrl Scouts.  The basic idea behind “Truth” is that Americans would have never tested the super soldier serum on a white guy first, so it hypothesizes that like many dangerous ideas, the super soldier serum was first tested on a black man before the good ol’ Cap’n that we know and love came into the picture.

Grrl Scouts on the other hand is about…actually I had no idea what it was about, but I’ve been a longtime fan of Jim Mahfood‘s art, and picking this swag up for 20 bucks apiece was a no brainer for me.

Also of interest for me were some Quantum and Woody issues, which I might come back for when I have more time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

