Rest in peace (however belatedly) Ulrich Muhe

ulrich.jpg

I was able to catch the The Lives of Others in the most recent cine europa film festival and found it to be one of the best movies I’ve watched all year. It’s tragic and sort of pathetic that I’ve only just found out that Ulrich Muhe, who plays the central role of a Stasi agent spying on a suspected activist playwright in the movie, died of stomach cancer last July. I don’t often do this, but when the filmspotting crew mentioned offhandedly that Mr.Muhe had died I was greatly saddened and felt moved to write a little something in his memory.

Thank you sir, for a movie that truly moved me, and a role that is certain to captivate audiences for generations to come.

4 Comments to “Rest in peace (however belatedly) Ulrich Muhe”

  1. I was also quite moved my this film. I saw it several months ago, and it’s stayed with me in a way that most movies never do. I didn’t know Muhe died…how sad. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. It’s a damned shame isn’t it? at only 56. You’re welcome by the way.

  3. Lives of Others best movie I have ever seen and I’ve seen a lot of them in 71 years. Cannot believe that while I was mesmeized by this movie Ulrich Muhe had died. I will always have in my mind that face and the defining hearphones. Rest in peace.

  4. I feel exactly the same way.

Leave a Reply

