An uphill battle.

I have a notorious tendency to reward myself too easily when it comes to work. I tend to do 15 minutes worth of work, then relax as soon as I have something done, or when something challenging comes up. Apparently when it comes to fight or flight, I’m a “flight” person when it comes to work. As is everyone I suppose.

Or at least, every normal person.

I find it a constant struggle to keep myself in front of the computer once something even remotely difficult comes up. It just feels so good to say “well, I’ll take a break and tackle it in 5-120 minutes”. If you can imagine it, I actually growl at myself/my brain telling me/it to quit whining and keep working. Of course, at the end of the day it feels much more rewarding to look at all the work I’ve done and I feel justified in relaxing with a drink, but the road there is just exhausting.

Leave a Reply

