Frobot : Frog research

Palit is one of the largest makers and distributors of videocards worldwide, and they’ve recently launched a contest to remake their unfortunately named mascot, frobot.  Since I have a bit of free time and I love using competitions as a way to force myself to both  improve my art and possibly win some prizes (A free 3 day trip to Taiwan, all expenses paid and a video card or two), I’ve decided to enter the Frobot II competition!   From the website:

The design of the Frobot II must convey environmental awareness through the use of a frog’s anatomy and green coloured elements as well as the  technological superiority using high-tech, industrial or futuristic design elements.

Now I’ve never drawn frogs before, and I’ve tried to block out the memories of cutting open a frog during high school to learn about anatomy.  So the first step for me was to do some research on frogs and do some quick sketches, basically familiarizing myself with frog anatomy and thinking about the color scheme I want to use for the final product.  I found that I’m a big fan of the color schemes of the tree frogs found in the Amazon forest, so I’m leaning towards using elements of those colors for the final design.  Looking at the musculature of the frogs will be also important for me, since I’m looking to replace what looks to a hydraulic system in Frobot 1 with a more flexible artificial muscle tissue (In line with conveying technological superiority).  Next up, research on robots and mechs because surprisingly, I’m no good at drawing those either

Tags:

Leave a Reply

