Frobot : Robot research

Since I’m going to be drawing a robot frog, I thought it would be apt to look for robots based on animals.  After doing a bit on research on designs from WE3 and all the way up to Voltron, I decided to take my cue from Yoji Shinkawa of Metal Gear fame.  His designs are totally bad ass, and I think they’d be a good starting point for my own final design for Frobot. I definitely want to veer away from the original frobot, which looked like a frog’s head grafted onto a metal, man-like frame.  I want to push the integration into the environment by having Frobot mk2 down on 4 legs.

As stated in the first Frobot post, the design has to take into account technological superiority using high-tech, industrial or futuristic design elements. So in addition to the previously mentioned artificial musculature, I’m also looking to have high powered solar panels at strategic locations around Frobot’s body, with a unique hexagonal design.  I originally considered Fission technology, but that feels like a bit of a copout and doesn’t really lend itself to fun design elements on Frobot’s body.  Anyway here’s what I have so far.  Real work’s been keeping me busy, so hopefully I’ll have a design finalized by the deadline!

Tags:

One Comment to “Frobot : Robot research”

  1. Great Blog!……There’s always something here to make me laugh…Keep doing what ya do 🙂

Leave a Reply

