Matches and Matrimony

I’ve been waiting a really long time to talk about Matches and Matrimony, but I didn’t have any idea when it was gonna come out.  Imagine my surprise then, when I did a google search for it and turned up the official website.  Not much info on it yet, but I take this as my cue that I’m free to talk about it now.   M&M is important to me for two reasons, the first of which is that in my short career as a freelance games artist, Reflexive Games is the the largest and most established company I’ve had the chance to work with.  Secondly, it was also my first time to work with  Russell Carroll, who was always excellent to work with and never shied away from giving positive or negative feedback.

My four months of working on the backgrounds for Matches and Matrimony taught me (finally!) how to use perspective, and gave an appreciation for how much our modern day furniture is inspired by the victorian era.  Of course by the end of 30 odd backgrounds I also started to really hate the Victorians and their need for overly elaborate and detailed furniture, but in the end it was a remarkable learning experience for me, and something I’ll always be proud off (even though at this point I cringe when I see the artwork).  It’s a really interesting game, and in the simplest terms I’d describe it as a time management game where you live the life of a Victorian woman and weave in and out of ballroom society looking for a “happily ever after” with the man of your dreams.  Yeah, I’d dig it too if I was a chick.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

