Blind Drawings

Blind Drawing, or contour drawing, is an essential exercise for any artist.  I’ll link here for the explanation on why it’s important, but suffice it to say I’ve been using it to great effect lately.  Sometimes I find myself drawing details like leaves on a tree without ever having to check the paper to see if I’m doing it properly because I’m so confident after having done numerous blind drawings.  These are some earlier blind drawings I did a month ago, of Royal Palm condominium and its environs.

I’ve stopped doing them a little bit because I’m worried that I’m wasting my expensive sketchpad paper (I’ve finished half of my monologue sketchpad in about a month), and I want to buy a cheaper sketchpad to focus purely on drawing exercises.

Leave a Reply

